UI men’s football to face Pittsburgh in College Cup domestic semi-final on Friday night – The Daily Hoosier


Indiana and Pittsburgh will meet Friday night with a trip to the National Championship Online game.

Indiana hasn’t suffered a loss in 11 straight games, but to keep that streak alive in Cary, NC, the Hoosiers will need to slow down a downstairs Panthers team.

Pitt is coached by ACC Coach of the Year and former IU player Jay Vidovich. They will play their first College Cup after facing their first three opponents in the 2020 NCAA tournament with a cumulative score of 13-1, including a 3-0 victory over No.8 Washington in the quarterfinal on Monday afternoon.

The Panthers are led by second-year midfielder Valentin Noel. The ACC Offensive Player of the Year has scored the team’s 14 best goals and added two assists. Sophomore midfielder Veljko Petkovic led the Panthers with eight assists to accompany nine goals. Graduate goalkeeper Nico Campuzano, an All-ACC first-team selection, has conceded 22 goals (1.13 GAA) starting all 19 games this season. He has 65 saves and (0.747 save percentage) to go with six shutouts.

Vidovich played for one season at IU straight out of high school in 1978 under legendary IU coach Jerry Yeagley, then transferred to Ohio Wesleyan for his final three seasons of college eligibility. Today’s coaches Vidovich and Jerry’s son Todd Yeagley have both won national championships: Vidovich in Wake Forest in 2007 and Yeagley in Indiana in 2012.

The Hoosiers and Panthers have only met once before, a 3-2 overtime victory in Indiana to open the 2019 season which saw IU come together after a 2-0 deficit.


  • No.2 Indiana Hoosiers (11-1-2) vs. No.3 Pittsburgh Panthers (16-3-0)
  • 2020-21 NCAA Tournament National Semifinals
  • Friday, 8:30 p.m. ET
  • Sahlen Stadium at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, NC
  • Televised on ESPNU

To view live NCAA tournament support, GO HERE.


Indiana second-year men’s football forward Victor Bezerra was named one of three finalists for the 2020 Missouri Athletic Club Hermann Trophy on Wednesday afternoon, United Soccer Coaches reported. The three finalists were determined by the vote of the NCAA Division I soccer coaches.

Bezerra is joined by Gloire junior forward Amanda (Oregon State) and sophomore midfielder Valentin Noel (Pittsburgh) as the three finalists for the prestigious award. The MAC Hermann Trophy has been awarded annually since 1967.

The Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year has been electric on the offensive end of the ball during the 2020-21 season. Bezerra has 12 goals, three assists and 28 total points to his name in his second season at Bloomington. His goal tally is the highest in a single season by a Hoosier since Eriq Zavaleta had 18 scores in 2012. Since 2006, only two Hoosiers have scored more goals than Bezerra in a single season: Will Bruin (18 in 2010) and Zavaleta (18 in 2012).

The Chicago native has scored five goals in all three games of the Big Ten Tournament, the biggest ever for a Hoosier in a single B1G tournament, en route to being selected as the Big Ten offensive player of the tournament.

Nationally, he is fourth in goals per game (0.91), tied for third in goals-winning (4) and tied for sixth in points per game (2.00).

Bezerra is the third Hoosier in the past four seasons to be named a MAC Hermann Trophy finalist. Andrew Gutman won the coveted award in 2018, while Grant Lillard was the 2017 finalist for the award. Current assistant coach Danny O’Rourke is the only other Hoosier to win the award under his current name, winning the MAC Hermann Trophy in 2004.

The MAC has honored the best college soccer player since 1986. Prior to 2002, the Missouri Athletic Club and the Hermann Trophy were two separate awards.

Two UI players have won the MAC Player of the Year award three times, Ken Snow taking the honor in 1988 and 1990, and current UI head coach Todd Yeagley in 1994. Hoosiers won five Hermann trophies with Angelo DiBernardo in 1978, Armando Betancourt in 1981, Ken Snow in 1988 and 1990, and Brian Maisonneuve in 1994.

The winner of the prestigious award will be announced on May 27 at a banquet in Saint-Louis.


Indiana, Bezerra and Roman Celentano, as well as senior red-shirted Spencer Glass, won All-America honors from United Soccer Coaches, the organization announced Thursday.

Bezerra was named to the first team. Celentano was selected for the second team, while Glass secured a place in the third team.

A total of 23 programs are represented on the list of 34 All-America selections. Indiana is one of nine teams to have multiple selections. Only the Hoosiers and Georgetown Hoyas have three players selected on a squad.

The three Hoosier caps have scored the most in a single season since Griffin Dorsey, Andrew Gutman and Trey Muse all won All-America honors in 2018. IU has also had more than three caps in 1977, 94, 97, 98, 99 , 2002, ’04 and ’05.

Indiana has placed at least one player on an All-America team in seven straight seasons and 10 of the past 11 seasons. The Hoosiers now had 48 players who earned 75 All-America applause.

Find us on Facebook: thedailyhoosier

The Daily Hoosier – “Where Indiana Fans Gather When They’re Not In The Assembly”

Seven ways to support completely free UI coverage at no additional cost to you.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.