Russia bans senior British officials from leaving the country – NationNews Barbados –

posted on

Russia has banned Prime Minister Boris Johnson and other senior ministers from entering Russia over the UK’s “hostile” stance on the war in Ukraine.

Foreign Secretary Liz Truss, Defense Secretary Ben Wallace and 10 other senior politicians – mostly Cabinet members – were also banned.

Moscow said the decision was taken in retaliation for sanctions imposed by the UK since it invaded Ukraine.

In March, Moscow imposed a similar ban on US President Joe Biden.

The full list is:

  • Prime Minister Boris Johnson
  • Foreign Secretary Liz Truss
  • Defense Secretary Ben Wallace
  • Deputy Prime Minister, Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for JusticeDominic Raab
  • Secretary of State for Transport Grant Shapps
  • Home Secretary Priti Patel
  • Chancellor Rishi Sunak
  • Minister for Entrepreneurship, Energy and Industrial Strategy Kwasi Kwarteng
  • Minister for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Nadine Dorries
  • Armed Forces Minister James Heappey
  • First Minister of Scotland Nicola Sturgeon
  • Attorney General of England and Wales and Solicitor General of Northern Ireland Suella Braverman
  • Conservative MP and former British Prime Minister Theresa May

In a statement, the Russian Foreign Ministry said: “London’s unbridled information and political campaign aimed at isolating Russia internationally, creating the conditions to contain our country and strangling the national economy” were responsible for its decision.

He added: “In essence, the British leadership is deliberately escalating the situation around Ukraine, pumping the kyiv regime with lethal weapons and coordinating similar NATO efforts.”

The UK government said it remained “resolute” in its support for Ukraine despite the move, adding it condemned Russia’s “reprehensible actions” in the country.

Scottish First Minister Nicola Sturgeon also reacted to the sanctions, describing President Putin as “a war criminal” and vowing that she “would not hesitate to condemn him and his regime”.

Earlier this week, the UK and US governments announced new sanctions against Russia.

The sanctions included financial measures intended to harm Russia’s economy and penalize Russian President Vladimir Putin, senior officials and people who benefited from his rule.

NATO countries – including the UK and the US – are also supplying arms, ammunition and other military equipment to Ukraine, although they have ruled out sending troops from NATO or the establishment of a no-fly zone.

On Wednesday, the United States said more sophisticated offensive weapons would be sent to Ukraine as part of an $800 million package.

In response, Moscow warned the United States on Friday that there would be “unforeseeable consequences” if it refused to stop sending arms to Ukraine. (BBC)

Toya J. Bell